foxyolive

Journey to the best health of my life (yes, the journey includes olives)

Getting involved and raising money

Leave a comment

Last week I took part in the JDRF ride for diabetes research. You can learn more about JDRF here: http://www.jdrf.ca/ The minimum I had to raise was $125. I am so appreciative of all my supporters who helped me smash through that target! I know there are many of you that would like to support everything.  However, there is no shortage of donation requests throughout the year.  There are marathons, walks, climbs, tournaments.  Most recently it’s likely you were involved in the ALS ice bucket challenge in some way (whether you were throwing ice on your head, or donating money or both).  You name it, there’s something.  I sponsor a child through Plan Canada.  I love receiving his letters and learning about his world!

I think it’s great that there are so many fun ways to raise money and, in many cases, lots of activity to go with it!  What’s better than improving your health while at the same time giving back?!

I encourage you all to give donations to charities that you would like to support, and take part in events to raise money.  Give whatever you can and donate your time when you can.  I did a lot of volunteer work for charities in the UK, but have not done as much here in Canada.  Earlier this year I had a fantastic experience building homes for two wonderful families.  Giving my time is something that I’m definitely trying to do more of when I can.

I feel very fortunate and enjoy giving back.  Overall my health is good.  Also, I have everything from clean drinking water, to free education, to a life of independence – and all because I was born in a particular country to a particular family.  We can all make a difference by simply taking part.

 

 

Author: Foxy-O

I’m a 30-something female who’s striving to be the healthiest woman I can be through diet and exercise. In early 2013 I was introduced to the world of Paleo. I completed Whole30 and had fantastic results. I had finally found something that worked for me! My blog is a jumble of my thoughts as I take the journey through my life. Somewhere for me to unleash my views, my challenges, my failures and my successes (hopefully!).

Leave a Reply

