foxyolive

Journey to the best health of my life (yes, the journey includes olives)

Crunchy bites

Leave a comment

Bites

It has been a while since I’ve done a recipe. So here’s a really quick one that I do all the time!

I have been making this delicious quick snack for years. It is one of those recipes that is never quite the same because the ingredients change depending on what’s in my cupboards. However, that is a good thing since I am sure you can adjust the recipe to you taste!

Ingredients
1 cup sliced almonds
1/2 cup sunflower seed
1/2 cup pumpkin seed
1/4 cup hemp seed
1/4 cup flax-seed
1/4 cup honey
Handful shredded coconut (for sprinkling on top)
Pecans (to decorate)

Lightly brown the sliced almonds on a low heat (I like to use a wok to make this as I find it easier to mix and flip around the nuts/seeds). Mix in the pumpkin and sunflower seeds followed by the honey. Once the almonds, pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds have been coated by the honey, mix in the hemp and flax-seed. Lay the mixture onto a baking tray lined with waxing paper. Use another sheet of waxing paper to flatten out the mixture, and then remove the top sheet. I like to leave it about 1/2cm thick, but you can make it thinner if you wish. Sprinkle with shredded coconut.

Take a knife or pizza slicer and cut the flattened mixture into squares. This mixture makes about 25 squares, but it all depends on the thickness and size of each square. You can decorate each piece with pecans as I did. Place the tray into the fridge to harden for approximately 20 minutes. It’s now ready to eat! Crunchy bites will store in the fridge for weeks and is perfect for a quick ‘pick me up’ snack. I store them in air-sealed glass containers once the bites have hardened.

Tips
Ingredients are extremely variable and the quantity and type of nuts/seeds will dictate how much honey you will require. I find that if I use too much honey it turns out too sweet and clumpy. If I don’t use enough honey then it doesn’t hold together well. It will probably be a case of trial and error to find the right consistency for you. Once you’ve made this a few times you’ll know what any mix should feel like at the right consistency.

I don’t think it matters too much when you mix in the honey. I tend to mix it in after the bigger items and then throw in the smaller items. That works for me. You can substitute the honey, but you would need something that would harden in the fridge to produce the same results. If you like the sweet/salt mix you could throw some salt in there too. Be adventurous!

Author: Foxy-O

I’m a 30-something female who’s striving to be the healthiest woman I can be through diet and exercise. In early 2013 I was introduced to the world of Paleo. I completed Whole30 and had fantastic results. I had finally found something that worked for me! My blog is a jumble of my thoughts as I take the journey through my life. Somewhere for me to unleash my views, my challenges, my failures and my successes (hopefully!).

Leave a Reply

