foxyolive

Journey to the best health of my life (yes, the journey includes olives)

Stress

12 Comments

stress

Recently I’ve been really stressed. There is a lot going on at work and I am going through an interview process for a new job. It got me thinking – stress has a huge impact on me. I know, I know – of course it does! Our stress hormone goes up – and that’s not a good thing for anyone.

I also get headaches and I feel exhausted when I’m stressed.  How much of that is truly from the stress of the situation though?  When I’m stressed I do not have a good appetite.  I eat very little and, when I do eat, I’m not eating my usual healthy meals – I’ll eat anything.  “It’s ok” I tell myself, because I’m stressed.  I use stress as an excuse to not focus on my health goals.  What if I actually ate well even when I was stressed?  What if I still made it to the gym even when I didn’t feel like going?  My guess is I would feel less exhausted and I probably wouldn’t suffer from the headaches.

We cannot always control situations in life that cause us stress, but we can control how we attack those moments.   I’m still in stress mode, but I’m going to be making a conscious effort to focus on my health goals.  Clean eating and exercise can only benefit me!

How do you manage stress?  Do you have any tips and tricks you can share?

Author: Foxy-O

I’m a 30-something female who’s striving to be the healthiest woman I can be through diet and exercise. In early 2013 I was introduced to the world of Paleo. I completed Whole30 and had fantastic results. I had finally found something that worked for me! My blog is a jumble of my thoughts as I take the journey through my life. Somewhere for me to unleash my views, my challenges, my failures and my successes (hopefully!).

12 thoughts on “Stress

  1. I’m not managing stress very well right now, and that’s an issue. The only way that I can really get out from underneath the stress is to exercise. Finding the time for it is another story….

  2. Seems March has not been good to many of us 🙂 Wish I had a solid plan for stress to give you, I would use it myself – if you find one – let me know and we’ll all work on it together 🙂

    • Deal! I have actually started yoga – just simple breathing exercises. I find (when I do it consistently!) it really helps relax me. However, March was not a consistent month. I definitely need to get back to it. It might be worth a try for you too 🙂

  3. If I’m feeling more stressed than usual, I will go harder on the intensity of my workout — my philosophy is that I’m sublimating the stress that way.

  4. Pingback: I got the job! | foxyolive

Leave a Reply

