foxyolive

Journey to the best health of my life (yes, the journey includes olives)

Gluten free crackers

Leave a comment

Gluten free crackers

It is near impossible for me to find delicious sugar free crackers (and I won’t eat sugar substitutes). Even when I have found sugar free crackers they tend to have non natural ingredients that I would like to eat less of whenever possible. A friend passed this recipe to me. They are so easy to make and so tasty! I can also see so many variations that can come from this recipe.

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups almond flour
1/2 cup ground flax seed meal
4 teaspoon coconut oil
1/2 teaspoon Himalayan sea salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup almond milk
1 tablespoon chia seeds (optional)

Combine all the ingredients in a bowl and knead until a dough forms. My dough was soft and sticky. I’m not sure if it was meant to be this way. I substituted soy milk (original recipe my friend gave) with almond milk so this may have done it. Either way the final product was really tasty. Place the dough in the fridge for 30 minutes.

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees. Take the dough from the fridge and divide it (I chose to divide it into 4 sections). Place one section between two pieces of parchment paper and use a rolling pin to make the dough thin and into a paper-like sheet. My dough was still quite soft so this was easy for me to do. Before I rolled out my dough I made sure the parchment paper matched the size of my baking tray. Peel off one sheet of parchment paper and lay the other sheet with the dough in the baking tray. With a pizza cutter or knife slice up the dough into squares. Repeat with other sections. I had some leftover dough which I rolled into balls and baked too.

Place the trays in the oven and cook for 12 minutes. Turn over and cook for another 3 to 4 minutes. Both sides will turn a lovely golden brown colour. My dough was very thin so if your dough is rolled out thicker then it may take a few more minutes to cook. Keep an eye on these every few minutes as they burn easily!

Tips
The chia seeds are optional, but they did add a really great flavour (not to mention the nutritional value). You can also add onion powder, oregano, cinnamon or even cayenne pepper. The possibilities are endless. If you’re baking with kids you could use cookie cutters to make some fun shapes. The crackers were tasty on their own, but I’m sure they would go well with many kinds of dips.

Be warned:
these crackers are just as addictive as the ones out the box – once you start it’s extremely hard to stop. Sometimes you just know when a recipe is going to become a regular in your home and this one will be visiting me often!

Author: Foxy-O

I’m a 30-something female who’s striving to be the healthiest woman I can be through diet and exercise. In early 2013 I was introduced to the world of Paleo. I completed Whole30 and had fantastic results. I had finally found something that worked for me! My blog is a jumble of my thoughts as I take the journey through my life. Somewhere for me to unleash my views, my challenges, my failures and my successes (hopefully!).

Leave a Reply

