foxyolive

Journey to the best health of my life (yes, the journey includes olives)

Chocolate pudding

Leave a comment

Chocolate pudding

Chocolate pudding

I made chicken bites recently and had left over coconut milk.  I did a quick search and found this really easy recipe.  I followed the instructions provided.  It was good, but I think it’s an acquired taste.  It’s more bitter than I normally prefer (my husband liked the flavour though – he loves 99% chocolate so that doesn’t surprise me!).  As you will see there is no added sugar so it’s not very sweet.  I find coconut milk sweet on it’s own so I think next time I’ll use less chocolate.  I also don’t think I need as many chia seeds to thicken it up.  I will probably try cutting the chia seeds in half.  Both myself and my husband found the texture of the chia seeds a little overwhelming.  It only took me 5 minutes to make so I will have to try this again with some changes.  I am hopeful that this simple recipe can be adjusted into something that I will love!

I copied the ingredients and process from here on Stupid Easy Paleo and have adjusted the wording to match what I did:

Ingredients

  • 400 ml coconut milk (minus 2 tablespoons that I used here)
  • 50g dark chocolate (I used 88%), chopped
  • 1 tbsp organic cocoa powder
  • 5 tbsp organic chia seeds
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Process

  1. In a saucepan over medium heat, combine the coconut milk, chopped dark chocolate and cocoa powder.
  2. Warm the coconut milk until the chocolate is completely melted. Turn off the heat and stir in the chia seeds and vanilla extract. [Hint: add the chia seeds while stirring continuously or else they will stick to the bottom of the pan in one big gelatinous lump.]
  3. Stir thoroughly until the chia seeds begin to thicken the mixture a bit.
  4. Pour into small serving cups and refrigerate for at least an hour until the mixture is very thick.
Author: Foxy-O

I’m a 30-something female who’s striving to be the healthiest woman I can be through diet and exercise. In early 2013 I was introduced to the world of Paleo. I completed Whole30 and had fantastic results. I had finally found something that worked for me! My blog is a jumble of my thoughts as I take the journey through my life. Somewhere for me to unleash my views, my challenges, my failures and my successes (hopefully!).

Leave a Reply

