foxyolive

Journey to the best health of my life (yes, the journey includes olives)

Why olives?

Leave a comment

The short (and sweet) answer:  Olives have good fat and I love them!

The long (and more interesting) answer: I’ve spent most of my life running from fat.  I trusted the “food pyramid”, the low-fat, low-cal outlook.  I thought eating less, means lower calories, which means weight loss.  Sure, that might work in the short-term, but in hindsight my body was lacking in so many vital minerals and nutrients.  I was not healthy.  In addition, I was eating a lot of processed food that I believed were healthy for me.  These processed foods had ingredients that my body did not recognize and I can’t begin to tell you the extra sugar in them!  I discovered good fats and whole foods.  My world changed overnight.  Things finally made sense.

I’m happy to say that I don’t even enjoy those processed ‘healthy’ foods I ate in the past.  My taste buds are alive again.  I used to hate olives.  I had one by accident on a day soon after I made the switch to whole foods and well, my mouth did a happy dance!

I’m a great ingredient label reader (when I buy something with a wrapper) and food is far tastier when you cook it from fresh.  Nothing in a wrapper tastes as good as my home cooking!

Author: Foxy-O

I’m a 30-something female who’s striving to be the healthiest woman I can be through diet and exercise. In early 2013 I was introduced to the world of Paleo. I completed Whole30 and had fantastic results. I had finally found something that worked for me! My blog is a jumble of my thoughts as I take the journey through my life. Somewhere for me to unleash my views, my challenges, my failures and my successes (hopefully!).

Leave a Reply

